taylorkillo.blogg.se

Ms word crashes when opening in protected view
Ms word crashes when opening in protected view







  1. MS WORD CRASHES WHEN OPENING IN PROTECTED VIEW PDF
  2. MS WORD CRASHES WHEN OPENING IN PROTECTED VIEW 64 BIT
  3. MS WORD CRASHES WHEN OPENING IN PROTECTED VIEW UPGRADE

In addition, I discovered today that, when an older Word file opens in Protected Mode (because it has Links, I guess), a box comes up and Word freezes. Specifically, a box comes up saying that the file will be converted to the new format (Word 2016) but then freezes without saving." "But even now, when I try to "Save As" a Word 2013 file (written in summer 2015) onto my desktop, it freezes up. "As you suggested, I opened several older Excel files and they all functioned fine, no freezing even when I made edits and re-saved each one.

ms word crashes when opening in protected view

I hadn't tried the Online Repair that you recommended because I wasn't sure it would work for Office 365 - but after I got your last post, I went ahead and did the Online Repair - twice! But I still have the same problems with Word (but no problems with Excel). I don't have to go thru my browser to use my Office programs, so my Office 365 programs must be resident on my computer. How should I proceed? And thanks again for your help. Specifically, a box comes up saying that the file will be converted to the new format (Word 2016) but then freezes without saving.

MS WORD CRASHES WHEN OPENING IN PROTECTED VIEW UPGRADE

I now remember (after searching my hard drive for Office 2016) that my recent upgrade was to Office 365! That's the only program now on my laptop, so my version of Word that has been so troublesome must be Word 365? I don't recall the specifics of the upgrade (and can't find a way to get them - can you suggest how I could do that?) but I believe I asked for the programs to be resident on my computer - not sure tho, it was very late and I was tired after many over-long days of work and stress.Īs you suggested, I opened several older Excel files and they all functioned fine, no freezing even when I made edits and re-saved each one.īut even now, when I try to "Save As" a Word 2013 file (written in summer 2015) onto my desktop, it freezes up. I also must apologize for some mis-information I gave you. I apologize for the long delay - I have been dealing with some serious family health issues in another state. After it's done, I would restart your computer and then try to see if the issue is still persisting. Quick repair works faster, but doesn't ensure everything gets fixed like online repair. You could choose either Online Repair or Quick Repair. If you do, let me know and provide a screenshotĥ. Note: You shouldn't have more than 1 Office installed on your computer. Look for Microsoft Office 2016, right click on it, and select Change. Depending on the view you have, either select Uninstall a program or Programs and FeaturesĤ. Type Control Panel and hit Enter on your keyboardģ. Here's the Microsoft article I'm referencing:Ģ. Additionally, does this occur in any other Office product? For instance, if you try to open an older Excel file in Excel 2016, does it also freeze? Just trying to narrow down the issue.īecause this issue seems to be related to upgrading office, let's try to repair it. Does it still freeze? If so, it's another symptom we can add to help troubleshoot the issue.

MS WORD CRASHES WHEN OPENING IN PROTECTED VIEW PDF

I'm assuming the pdf file was create in 2014? Try opening a new that pdf that was created in the last couple of days in Word. But since you have the newest version, this would only cause issues with opening older Word documents. This allows you to open newer Word documents. The reason I was checking to see if you had the Compatibility Pack is because it's only needed when you have an older version of Word. Unfortunately, I don't see the image you uploaded.Ĭompatibility Mode should appear in Word when you are opening documents that are pre-2010.

ms word crashes when opening in protected view

Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., Q551LNBĪntivirus: Kaspersky Internet Security, Updated and Enabled Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics 5500, 1024 Mb Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-5500U CPU 2.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 61 Stepping 4

MS WORD CRASHES WHEN OPENING IN PROTECTED VIEW 64 BIT

OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit

ms word crashes when opening in protected view

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2 I seem to be able to create new texts, and even save them.Īny ideas about how I can fix this? This is my workhorse program so I really need it. And when I reopen Word and click on the recovered text in the right-hand column, it freezes immediately.

ms word crashes when opening in protected view

Also, when I try to save an older text, it freezes. But the first time I try to scroll or page down, it freezes. The freeze comes like this: When I open an older text (from a colleague so it is in an earlier version of Word), it opens fine. I've also rechecked the settings, but I can't see anything amiss. I have an ongoing malware program and also did a complete scan and found nothing, so it's not a virus. It is set to Compatibility Mode, like all my previous versions of Word (except the first one!), because many of my colleagues in small nonprofit organizations have older versions. I recently upgraded to Office 2016, and whenever I use Word 2016, it freezes up.









Ms word crashes when opening in protected view